Affordable Care Act Could Remove Drug Rehab Cost Barriers

CBS Sacramento

[worldnow id=9301127 width=385 height=288 type=video]

SACRAMENTO (CBS13) — The Affordable Care Act could lead as many as 40 million Americans to rehab as it would eliminate cost barriers for people who need help recovering from addiction.

It is estimated that addiction costs more than $120 billion each year in healthcare costs. But there is debate now whether the Affordable Care Act could help get more addicts clean once again.

“My childhood sweetheart stuck a needle in my arm when I was 18 years old,” said Christine Nash. “”When I found methamphetamine, I found the love of my life. I felt I could do anything, I felt I could say anything, I could be anything.”

In and out of jail for most of her 20s, Nash would steal so that she could feed her methamphetamine addiction. Her kids were taken away, she lost nearly everything.

“The amazing part is, I was…

View original post 280 more words

Leave a Reply

