My Character Was Grossly Misjudged at the Belmont Avenue Kroger

Ginger's Grocery

“If I forget to ask you to donate to
Susan G Komen For the Cure
You get a Coke
FREE!!”

image

I am not petty enough to call out a minimum-wage worker on a promotion like this, so I don’t have the comped bottle of soda to prove it, but I was not asked to make a breast cancer donation at Kroger last week. And no, the clerk (let’s call her “Vera”) did not forget to ask. She simply refrained from making the request because she thought I’d say no. Of this I am certain.

Before I share with you the passive-aggressive ugliness that transpired last Thursday between Vera and me, and in my own defense (with the understanding that I come off sounding like kind of a jerk in this story), let me just say that I donate to causes like this every time someone asks me. Every. Single…

View original post 891 more words

Leave a Reply

